First Nations woman told to stop building her own house

Ministry of Natural Resources says Saugeen Lake resident does not have a permit to do the work

Darlene Necan constructing her house in northern Ontario, 2013.

Darlene Necan constructing her house in northern Ontario, 2013.

CBC News, Nov 20, 2013

The province has ordered an aboriginal woman from northwestern Ontario to stop building a home on what she considers her family’s traditional land.

Darlene Necan is building her own home on her family’s traditional trapline, outside the boundaries of Saugeen First Nation, near Pickle Lake.

In an earlier CBC News story, she said her needs — and those of many other off-reserve members — aren’t being met by the First Nation leadership.

“Being homeless all the time, that kind of got to me,” Necan said. “It seemed like society pushed me back on our land, and that’s why I started building on our trapline.”

But last month, the Ministry of Natural Resources issued a stop-work order, and told her she could face a $10,000 fine if she doesn’t get a permit.

“I know I could have done all the stuff that they asked me [to do] by paperwork, but then I’m thinking, ‘I come from here,’” Necan said. “Why would I start paying a permit to build on my own land?”

‘I gotta help myself’

Necan said she still plans to finish the house and move in, despite the order from the MNR.

A ministry spokesperson confirmed the order has been issued but declined to comment further, saying the issue is in the hands of the MNR enforcement branch.

This is not the first time Necan has undertaken building a home.  She led an initiative to build a log house two years ago for an elder who was living in what Necan called a small “chicken shack.”

Necan herself is currently homeless and living in a shack.

“[I'm] trying to stand on my own two feet, to build my own house, a place to call home,” she said. “So I gotta do something and I gotta help myself and … build my own home in my own traditional land.”

Necan said she is building the house with the support of the Indigenous Commission of the International League of People’s Struggles, many grassroots activists and several union locals.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/thunder-bay/first-nations-woman-told-to-stop-building-her-own-house-1.2433655

Posted on November 20, 2013, in Decolonization, Indigenous Women and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on lara (author-blogger) and commented:
    Self-determination is our right as sovereign citizens – this is a start

  2. Supporting First Nations!

  3. Keep trying to live and be free…the industry’s… only want money. Oppression is not free, it costs the most money and lives. Freedom is free and we live in a land of oppression not freedom. The struggle to be free requires first a strong mind and body and spirit, then it requires help from other like minded caring people and groups…they may have some recourses they can help provide and that want to support freedom and not oppression! I hope you get your house built. Keep on keeping on. 1worldup.co Ckapeace! Seeking peace!

  4. How typical of a gov’t to presume just because they stole our lands, they have the “right” to tell us what we can and can not do on them. Prayers lifted for you….. Build your home Sister and enjoy it!

  5. In a free country, you shouldn’t need “permission” to build a living structure on your own land. Only commercial building needs permits.

  6. From a Muslim sister in Toronto. I just heard about your wonderful story. Keep on fighting the fight Sister. We are all rooting for you and hope you succeed in all your goals. I hope to meet you one day.

    Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 666 other followers

